What the decaf plan sends
Our decaf coffee subscription sends a 12 oz bag of decaf from a different independent Oregon roaster every box, roasted to order. Set the style to decaf in the plan builder, pick your roast level and grind, and choose every 2 or 4 weeks. Decaf costs what every bag costs, $16.99. First bag free, you pay $7.99 shipping.
It sends decaf only, unless you add a second bag. If your house drinks both, a two-bag box can hold a decaf for the evening and a regular coffee for the morning, each with its own roast and style.
How Oregon roasters decaffeinate
Decaf is made by one of several methods, and some Oregon roasters name theirs. These are roasters we list that roast decaf and name the method on their own pages, checked 2026-09-27. A listing does not mean a roaster is part of the club or in any box.
| Roaster | Town | Decaf | Method they state |
|---|---|---|---|
| Case Study | Portland | Decaf Mexico Cristal Select | Mountain Water Process |
| Roseline | Portland | Decaf Altura Mexico, and a decaf subscription | Mountain water for the subscription; not stated for Altura |
| Sterling | Portland | Colombia decaf, roasted light-medium | Sugarcane (EA) |
| Dapper & Wise | Hillsboro | Decaf Colombia Guarapo Field Blend, plus a Decaf Stag Espresso | Sugarcane for the Guarapo; not stated for the Stag |
| Lone Pine | Bend | Decaf Colombia | Listed as Rainbow EA process |
| Noble | Ashland | Decaf Ethiopian Sidama and Decaf World Tour espresso | Water processed |
| Water Avenue | Portland | Velvet Falls Decaf, a decaf of its Bull Run blend | Water processed |
More Oregon roasters we list sell a decaf without naming the method, including Coava, Heart, Nossa Familia, Sisters Coffee, Backporch, Thump, Trailhead, Wandering Goat and Caravan. Sleepy Monk in Cannon Beach lists four: a medium Mexico, a dark Honduras, a house blend and a decaf espresso. Portland Coffee Roasters describes its decaf as certified organic and sells it in Nespresso-compatible capsules.
The spread runs from light-medium in Portland to dark on the coast. That is why the decaf plan lets you set the roast level as well as the style.
Why decaf from a local roaster
Oregon roasters put the same care into decaf as into anything else they roast: Sterling roasts its sugarcane decaf a little longer than its light roasts for a more traditional cup, and Water Avenue built Velvet Falls from its flagship blend. Buying it from them pays a roaster in Portland or Hillsboro instead of a warehouse somewhere else, and it reaches you roasted and shipped within 3 days. More on why local roasters matter.
Decaf plan questions
Is decaf more expensive?
No. Decaf is $16.99 a bag like every other roast, and the first bag is free with $7.99 shipping.
Can I choose which decaf method I get?
No. The plan builder sets style, roast level and grind, and the method depends on the roaster that box. The packing slip tells you about the coffee in the bag.
Can one bag be decaf and the other regular?
Yes. Pick two bags and set only one of them to decaf. Both come in the same box.
Can I choose a dark decaf?
Yes. Set the roast level to dark and the style to decaf, or pick mix it up and let each roaster choose.