Multnomah Coffee Club
  1. Home
  2. Blog
  3. Oregon roasters by the numbers

Oregon coffee roasters by the numbers

We counted what 18 Oregon roasters publish about themselves. Here is what they share and where they differ.

Quick answer: what Oregon roasters are known for

Across the 18 Oregon roasters we profile, the common threads are cafes, decaf and subscriptions. Sixteen run at least one cafe, all 18 sell a decaf, and 16 sell a subscription of their own. Half of them roast in Portland. Of the twelve with a founding year we could source, ten started between 2004 and 2012, four of them in 2009. Six sell coffee they describe as organic, and one, in Eugene, says all of its coffee is certified organic.

Roast Local counts 213 roasters in Oregon. The 18 here are the local favorites we list, so read this page as a snapshot of that list, not of the whole state.

How we counted

Each roaster profile on this site is built from the roaster's own pages, checked on September 27, 2026. We counted a roaster for a trait only when our profile records it. If a roaster does not state something, such as a decaf method or a founding year, we counted it as not stated, not as a no. Menus change, so treat product counts as true on the check date.

Where they roast

Roastery townRoastersWho
Portland9Case Study, Coava, Heart, Nossa Familia, Portland Coffee Roasters, Roseline, Sterling, Trailhead, Water Avenue
Bend3Backporch, Lone Pine, Thump
Sisters1Sisters Coffee Company
Eugene1Wandering Goat
Hillsboro1Dapper & Wise
Newberg1Caravan
Ashland1Noble
Cannon Beach1Sleepy Monk

Central Oregon has four of the 18, three in Bend and one in Sisters. Our Central Oregon page covers them together.

When they started

Twelve of the 18 publish a founding year we could source. The oldest is Sisters Coffee Company, from 1989, followed by Portland Coffee Roasters in 1996. Nine of the twelve started between 2004 and 2009: Nossa Familia and Wandering Goat in 2004, Backporch in 2006, Noble in 2007, Coava in 2008, and Heart, Lone Pine, Trailhead and Water Avenue in 2009. Roseline followed in 2012. The other six do not give a year we could confirm. Our Oregon coffee history puts these dates next to the older family roasters.

Founding dates are not ownership dates. Water Avenue, founded in 2009, has been owned by Harder Day Coffee since August 2024, Willamette Week reported.

Cafes: 16 of 18

Sixteen of the 18 list at least one cafe, 42 in all. Roseline has the most, seven in the Portland area, and Backporch has five, four in Bend and one in Redmond. The two without a cafe in our records sell in other ways: Sleepy Monk's Cannon Beach coffee shop has closed for good while its roastery keeps roasting for online and wholesale orders, and Trailhead lists no cafe but usually has staff at its roastery for in-person sales on Mondays and Tuesdays. Our guide to where to drink Portland roasters' coffee maps the Portland cafes.

Roast levels

Ten of the 18 sell at least one coffee labeled dark, and eight sell one labeled light. Several cover the whole range: Nossa Familia, Portland Coffee Roasters, Backporch and Trailhead all list light, medium and dark. Two skip the usual labels on purpose. Heart gives each coffee its own profile instead of a light, medium or dark tag, and Coava sells most coffees in a drip or an espresso roast profile. Four more publish no roast level labels in our records. The glossary explains light roast and dark roast.

Decaf: all 18

Every roaster on our list sells at least one decaf. Eight say something about how it was decaffeinated: seven name a method, and one describes it only as certified organic.

Method namedRoasters
Mountain water processCase Study, Roseline
Water processed, no brand givenNoble, Water Avenue
Sugarcane (EA) processDapper & Wise, Lone Pine, Sterling
Described only as a certified organic decaf methodPortland Coffee Roasters
Not statedThe other 10

None named Swiss Water on the check date. Our explainer on how decaf coffee is made covers what each method does.

Organic, direct trade and certifications

  • Organic: six sell coffee they describe as organic. Wandering Goat says all its coffees are certified organic through Oregon Tilth. Noble and Sleepy Monk describe their coffee as organic, and Nossa Familia, Portland Coffee Roasters and Water Avenue sell organic blends or single origins. Trailhead says it skips the USDA organic label because of the cost.
  • Direct trade: four describe buying directly from farms. Nossa Familia sources from the founder's family farms in Brazil; Portland Coffee Roasters, Backporch and Trailhead each describe direct relationships.
  • Other labels: Portland Coffee Roasters is the one to name Fair Trade coffees, Nossa Familia is a certified B Corp, and Water Avenue sells a Bird Friendly certified coffee made with Bird Alliance of Oregon.

Subscriptions and other formats

Sixteen of the 18 sell a subscription of their own, from Sterling's weekly option to monthly plans. Many sell more than whole bean bags:

FormatCountRoasters
Instant coffee4Backporch, Dapper & Wise, Nossa Familia, Thump
Steeped single-serve packs2Caravan, Nossa Familia
Capsules or pods2Portland Coffee Roasters, Sleepy Monk
Canned coffee or cold brew2Dapper & Wise, Nossa Familia

What the numbers say about buying local

Eighteen roasters, eight towns, 42 cafes and 16 roaster-run subscriptions. An Oregon roaster can be a seven-cafe Portland company or a Cannon Beach roastery that sells online. Every bag bought from one keeps money with a business and crew in the state. More on that in why local roasters matter. The roasters above are local favorites we list. A listing does not mean a roaster is part of the club.

If you would rather not pick one, the Multnomah Coffee Club sends a 12 oz bag from a different independent Oregon roaster each box, every 2 or 4 weeks, at $16.99 a bag. Your first bag is free; you pay $7.99 shipping on that first box.

Oregon roaster questions

How many coffee roasters are in Oregon?

Roast Local counts 213 roasters in Oregon. The 18 here are the local favorites we list.

What is the oldest coffee roaster on your list?

Sisters Coffee Company, founded in 1989 in Sisters. Our Oregon coffee history covers older family roasters that are not on our list.

Which Oregon roasters sell organic coffee?

Six on our list: Wandering Goat, whose coffees are all certified organic through Oregon Tilth, plus Noble, Sleepy Monk, Nossa Familia, Portland Coffee Roasters and Water Avenue.

Do Oregon roasters sell decaf?

All 18 on our list do. Eight describe the decaf process: seven name a method, from mountain water process to sugarcane process, and one calls it a certified organic method.

Sources

  • All counts: our 18 Oregon roaster profiles, built from each roaster's own pages and checked on 2026-09-27. Counts are ours, made from those records as described under How we counted.
  • Roast Local (213 Oregon roasters, pulled 2026-09-27)
  • Water Avenue's ownership: Willamette Week, August 19, 2024, and Wikipedia, Water Avenue Coffee.